JESS3 is a creative agency that specializes in data visualization.

We would love to work with you, send us a note at hi@jess3.com, or call 571-213-4308

C-SPAN

RNC and DNC Content Hub

The Project: Continuing a rich partnership that began in 2008 with a "Convention Hub":http://jess3.com/cspan-convention-hub and a "Debate Hub":http://jess3.com/cspan-debate-hub, we joined forces with C-SPAN for the 2012 cycle to leverage their rich video archives by creating a Content Hub. Overflowing with high integrity information, C-SPAN’s Hub was built to serve the final four events of the Presidential Cycle: the Republican National Convention, the Democratic National Convention, the Presidential and Vice Presidential Debates and Election Day. The Hub is full of real-time coverage featuring: videos, clips, tweets, hangouts, touts and infographics depicting transcript and video-driven insights coming out of the 2012 "RNC":http://www.c-span.org/RNC/Infographics and "DNC":http://www.c-span.org/DNC/Infographics.

Methodology: The Hub. With the learnings from the successful Convention Hub in 2008 under our belts, we sought out to create an even more powerful tool to highlight and leverage C-SPAN’s rich video archives and create an unique feature set that included: Live Streams, Video Database, Speaker Schedules, Tweet Streams from Delegates, Touts from Delegates, Tweet Streams from Viewers, Google+ Hangouts (with delegates, viewers, reporters, etc.), Viewer Comment Functionality, Infographic Gallery and Blogs.

Content Creation. The Hub is full of real-time coverage depicting transcript and video-driven insights coming out of both the "RNC":http://www.c-span.org/RNC/Infographics and "DNC":http://www.c-span.org/DNC/Infographics. We created graphics for each day of the conventions in order to fill the Hub with real-time, relevant content. We also advised on a handful of "supercut" videos that spliced together memorable moments from seven Presidential Conventions, such as "this one":http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=oHO1-_umS6E where decades of candidates accept the nomination from their respective parties.

The Results: The Convention Hub and infographics saw mentions from tech, media and political influencers like "National Journal":http://nationaljournal.com/2012-election/infographic-conventions-through-the-years-20120830, the "Daily Beast":http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2012/08/27/rnc-live.html, Mashable (both "here":http://mashable.com/2012/08/23/cspan-convention-hub and "here":http://mashable.com/2012/08/28/president-nominations-video), "The Atlantic":http://www.theatlantic.com/technology/archive/2012/08/28-years-worth-of-of-presidential-nominees-in-1-minute-20-seconds/261679, "Vice":http://motherboard.vice.com/2012/8/28/watch-three-decades-of-presidential-candidates-accept-their-nomination, Influential Tumblr "Brooklyn Mutt":http://www.brooklynmutt.com/post/30407365941/from-the-c-span-archives-check-out-this-new, "Social Times":http://socialtimes.com/c-span-i-accept-your-nomination-supercut_b103939, "Laughing Squid":http://laughingsquid.com/accepting-the-presidential-nomination-a-supercut-video-by-c-span, and many more.

Read more